Contact Our Criminal Firm At 732-450-8300 To Discuss Your Underage Drinking Offense
The 2018 Haskell Invitational Stakes marked a major transition in terms of enforcement of underage alcohol possession and consumption (a.k.a. underage drinking) at Monmouth Park Racetrack in Oceanport New Jersey. Our lawyers received numerous inquiries from those under legal drinking age of twenty-one (21) and their families regarding charges under N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15 (“Possession, consumption of alcoholic beverages by persons under legal age”) filed at that event. It appears that both the Oceanport Police Department and New Jersey State Police are taking a much more aggressive approach in terms of targeting those attempting to purchase and consume alcohol in the Borough of Oceanport, especially at the racetrack. If you were charged with possessing alcohol underage or drinking when under 21 years of age, an attorney at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall is prepared to thoroughly defend you against a conviction in Oceanport Municipal Court. The attorneys at the firm have over 100 years of combined experience, including experience serving as prosecutors in Monmouth County, to put into action on your behalf. Call 732-450-8300 to speak to a lawyer free of charge.
Charged With Underage Possession or Consumption of Alcohol in Oceanport NJ
The vast majority of underage drinking charges involve an alleged violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15. This law provides, in relevant part,, that:
1. a. Any person under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages who knowingly possesses without legal authority or who knowingly consumes any alcoholic beverage in any school, public conveyance, public place, or place of public assembly, or motor vehicle, is guilty of a disorderly persons offense, and shall be fined not less than $500.00.
b.Whenever this offense is committed in a motor vehicle, the court shall, in addition to the sentence authorized for the offense, suspend or postpone for six months the driving privilege of the defendant. Upon the conviction of any person under this section, the court shall forward a report to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission stating the first and last day of the suspension or postponement period imposed by the court pursuant to this section. If a person at the time of the imposition of a sentence is less than 17 years of age, the period of license postponement, including a suspension or postponement of the privilege of operating a motorized bicycle, shall commence on the day the sentence is imposed and shall run for a period of six months after the person reaches the age of 17 years.
. . . . .
c.In addition to the general penalty prescribed for a disorderly persons offense, the court may require any person who violates this act to participate in an alcohol education or treatment program, authorized by the Department of Health and Senior Services, for a period not to exceed the maximum period of confinement prescribed by law for the offense for which the individual has been convicted.
. . . . .
f.An underage person and one or two other persons shall be immune from prosecution under this section if:
(1) one of the underage persons called 9-1-1 and reported that another underage person was in need of medical assistance due to alcohol consumption;
(2) the underage person who called 9-1-1 and, if applicable, one or two other persons acting in concert with the underage person who called 9-1-1 provided each of their names to the 9-1-1 operator;
(3) the underage person was the first person to make the 9-1-1 report; and
(4)t he underage person and, if applicable, one or two other persons acting in concert with the underage person who made the 9-1-1 call remained on the scene with the person under the legal age in need of medical assistance until assistance arrived and cooperated with medical assistance and law enforcement personnel on the scene.
The underage person who received medical assistance also shall be immune from prosecution under this section.
Consequences of a Conviction Under 2C:33-15 In Oceanport Municipal Court
A violation of 2C:33-15 results in a disorderly persons offense — a misdemeanor criminal offense. This means that there will be a criminal record if you or your son/daughter is convicted of underage drinking or possession of alcohol. He or she will also be subject to a fine of not less than $500, up to six months in the Monmouth County Correctional Institute, probation, counseling, community service and mandatory court fees and assessments. If the offense occurred in a motor vehicle, a driver’s license suspension of six months is also imposed.
How Can Our Lawyers Help You Avoid A Conviction?
You have to keep in mind that the lawyers on our team have, in most cases, been appearing in Oceanport Municipal Court for decades. The same holds true for their defense of underage drinking charges. We have consistently avoided a conviction under 2C:33-15 or any other criminal statute on behalf of our clients. This obviously provides significant benefit to our clients since a criminal record, as well as penalties set forth in 2C:33-15, can have a substantial negative impact.
Underage Alcohol Possession & Consumption Attorney
We certainly understand that you may have many questions if your were arrested and/or charged with underage alcohol possession or even consuming alcohol in Oceanport. One of our lawyers is ready to help you gain and understanding of the offense you are facing and what can be done to help you escape a conviction. To discuss your Oceanport underage drinking case with an attorney at the firm, you can contact us anytime 24/7. Attorneys can be reached for free consultations at 732-450-8300. A lawyer is waiting to take your call.