Our Former Prosecutors Are Ready To Provide A Free Consultation To Discuss The Defense Of Your Shoplifting Offense
There are numerous retail stores in Hazlet where shoplifting occurs such as Home Depot, Walgreens, Dollar Tree, CVS and Shoprite. If you are someone that was arrested in the Township of Hazlet for violating N.J.S.A. 2C:20-11 (“Shoplifting”), we encourage you to take the time to speak to one of the lawyers at our firm. Our criminal defense team includes eight attorneys, most of whom are former prosecutors, who have over 100 years of combined experience. The founder of the firm, Jonathan Marshall, even served as prosecutor of Hazlet in the past. To speak to Mr. Marshall or another attorney at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, call us at 877-450-8301. You can also consult with a lawyer online to obtain legal advice.
How Is The Grading Of A Hazlet Shoplifting Offense Determined?
The severity of a shoplifting offense hinges on the grade of violation. It is a disorderly persons offense, a misdemeanor, to shoplifting merchandise with a value of less than $200. Charges falling within this grade are heard at the Hazlet Municipal Court. A theft of retail merchandise with a value of at least $200, results in an indictable crime that can only be dealt with at the Monmouth County Superior Court in Freehold. A retail theft involving at least $200 but less than $500 is a fourth degree crime. If someone is accused of shoplifting at least $500 but less than $75,000, they face a third degree crime.
What Are The Penalties If You Are Convicted Of Shoplifting in Hazlet New Jersey?
The penalties for shoplifting in Hazlet vary depending on the grade of the charge you are facing. A third degree shoplifting charge carries a fine of up to $15,000 and up to 5 years in prison. A fine that can reach $10,000 and up to 18 months of incarceration apply to a fourth degree shoplifting. The lowest grade of shoplifting is a disorderly persons offense and you face up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000 upon conviction.
Is There A Way To Avoid A Conviction On A Hazlet Shoplifting Charge?
Absolutely. To be convicted of shoplifting in New Jersey, you must violate 2C:20-11 and have an intent to commit a theft. If your conduct was unintentional, then the necessary elements of this offense have not been established. The state must also prove that you engaged in one of the six forms of conduct set forth in this law, for example, concealed merchandise, changed a price tag or attempted to walk out of a store without paying. A savvy attorney will challenge the prosecutor to establish your guilt beyond reasonable doubt. When all else fails, a lawyer can resort to conditional dismissal in order to avoid a criminal record for a Hazlet shoplifting charge.
Shoplifting Defense Lawyer in Hazlet
While Hazlet does not have the volume of shoplifting charges of Eatontown, Tinton Falls or Freehold, the municipality has a considerable number filed annually. The attorneys at our firm know this fact as good as any given that we have been appearing in Hazlet Municipal Court on shoplifting charges for decades and have even served as prosecutors there. A defense lawyer that not only knows the court well but also has years of experience handling shoplifting offenses is available to provide a free consultation. To speak to one of the lawyers at the Marshall Law Firm, call 877-450-8301. An attorney is ready to take your call 24/7.
Related Resources That May Be Of Interest You