Traffic Offense Attorney in Long Branch New Jersey
While there are a slew of potential traffic offenses that someone can face in Long Branch New Jersey, two of the more common ones are driving while suspended and unlicensed driving. The lawyers at our firm are aware of this fact because they routinely appear in Long Branch Municipal Court on behalf of the clients charged with motor vehicle violations and disorderly persons offenses. If you received a traffic ticket for driving while suspended or because you were an unlicensed driver, do not make the mistake of walking into court within an attorney. Charges such as these have the ability to snowball and land you in jail if they are not handled properly with the assistance of a skilled Long Branch traffic ticket lawyer. The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall has a team of attorneys that clearly meet this qualification. To learn what we can do to help you avoid a conviction under N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 or 39:3-10, contact our office at 732-450-8300.
Driving While Suspended Ticket in Long Branch
As previously stated, a driving while suspended ticket in Long Branch arises out of 39:3-40. This law provides that “[n]o person to whom a driver’s license has been refused or whose driver’s license or reciprocity privilege has been suspended or revoked, or who has been prohibited from obtaining a driver’s license, shall personally operate a motor vehicle during the period of refusal, suspension, revocation, or prohibition.” An individual cannot operate a motor vehicle without violating this law if they have been suspended for DWI, points, failure to pay surcharges or any other administrative or court ordered revocation.
As a general rule, the penalties that may be imposed by the judge in Long Branch for driving while suspended hinge on whether it is a first offense, second offense or third offense (subsequent too). A conviction for driving with a revoked license results in a fine of $500, an additional period of suspension of up to 6 months, and 1-5 days in jail for a second offense and at least 10 days for a third or subsequent offense. If the suspension is for driving while intoxicated, the court must impose a 1-2 year license revocation and 10-90 days in jail, even for a first offense.
Long Branch Summons For Being An Unlicensed Driver
N.J.S.A. 39:3-10 prohibits the operation of a motor vehicle by anyone who is unlicensed. In terms of the penalties for driving without obtaining a valid license, this law imposes a fine of up to $500, up to 60 days in the county jail and a suspension of 6 months.
Contact An Accomplished Long Branch Driving While Suspended Defense Lawyer At Our Firm Now
There are many strategies that our attorneys can utilize to avoid a conviction for driving while suspended. In the overwhelming percentage of cases, the efforts of a defense lawyer at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall prove successful in averting a 39:3-40 conviction. This is pivotal if you want to avoid additional suspension of your driving privileges or even jail. To discuss your rights and options with an attorney who is highly knowledgeable in defending driving while suspended and unlicensed driver tickets, call 732-450-8300. One of our lawyers is ready to help you.
Related Long Branch Resource Pages
- Long Branch Traffic Offense Attorney
- Criminal Lawyers in Long Branch New Jersey
- Long Branch NJ DWI Lawyer