Tinton Falls Disorderly Persons Offense Lawyers

The largest segment of criminal charges written in Tinton Falls fall within the grade of a disorderly persons offense. Although this type of charge is akin to a misdemeanor in other states, it nevertheless has the potential to result in a record that will follow you for years, not to mention a significant jail sentence. Consequences like these make it imperative to select a knowledgeable defense attorney to defend any disorderly persons offense you may be facing. Here at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, our firm is comprised of accomplished lawyers that have been appearing in Tinton Falls Municipal Court for well over 100 years combined. Most of the attorneys also have the benefit of serving as prosecutors in the past, including at both the county and municipal level in Monmouth County. If you would like to speak to a lawyer on our team, call 732-450-8300 for a free consultation.

Charged With A Disorderly Persons Offense in Tinton Falls New Jersey

The Tinton Falls Municipal Court has jurisdiction in accordance with N.J.S.A. 2B:12-16 andĀ N.J.S.A. 2C:1-3 to decide disorderly persons offenses and petty disorderly persons offenses filed within the 15.623 square miles of the borough. Criminal charges of this nature are misdemeanor in nature as opposed to a “crime” under the New Jersey Criminal Code. There are a slew of offenses that fall within these grades, including:

  • Simple Assault

  • Harassment

  • Disorderly Conduct

  • Bad Checks

  • Shoplifting

  • Possession of Marijuana or Drug Paraphernalia

  • Trespass

  • HinderingĀ 

  • Obstructing the Administration of Law

  • Lewdness

  • Resisting Arrest

A conviction for any of these charges in Tinton Falls Municipal Court results in a criminal record and a number of potential penalties. The potential consequences involve up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine for a disorderly persons offense. A petty disorderly persons offense carries up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $500. The judge may also impose probation, community service and even a driver’s license suspension.

The are two programs that can help you avoid a disorderly persons offense such as simple assault, resisting arrest, bad checks or shoplifting. The first program is Conditional Dismissal, which applies to non-drug offenses, and the second is Conditional Discharge, which applies to drug/cds related charges. Both diversion programs are limited to first time offenders and require completion of one year of probation. The related disorderly persons offense is dismissed, with prejudice, upon successful completion of supervision.

You should also know that a conviction for a disorderly persons offense will remain on your record for at least 5 years. The reason is because the law does not allow expungement (i.e. removal or sealing) until a 5 year waiting period from the date of payment of all fines and completion of probation has occurred.

The statute of limitation for the Tinton Falls Police or a private citizen to file a disorderly persons offense is one year from the date of commission of the alleged violation.

Attorney for a Disorderly Persons Offense in Tinton Falls New Jersey

Whether this is the first time you have been charged with a disorderly persons offense or not, walking into court can be intimidating. Hiring an attorney who is experienced with Tinton Falls Municipal Court and in defending these types of charges can be instrumental in reaching the best result in your case. The attorneys at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall possess this pedigree and are available 24/7 to discuss your offense. To speak to a lawyer free of charge, call 732-450-8300. Lawyers are waiting to take your call.

 

Additional Tinton Falls Resources To Assist You

Tinton Falls NJ Simple Assault Defense Attorney

Shoplifting Attorney in Tinton Falls

Tinton Falls Municipal Court Defense Lawyers